Board of Directors

The Arc Dane County – Board of Directors

Sarah Barnes

Sarah is an attorney in the Madison area. Her practice is mainly focused on serving people with disabilities, wills and trusts.


Ken Hobbs


Ken has served as President of The Arc-Dane County for the past six years. He is a former Arc-Dane County Executive Director from 2000-2007 and prior to that he was the Special Education Director in the Lake Mills, WI school district.



Vice President
Barbara Hughes


Barbara is an attorney with Christenson Johnson, LLC. Since 1986, she has been specializing in special needs law and advocacy, as well as elder law & estate planning. Barbara is actively volunteering with Luther Memorial Church and has chaired their personnel committee. She is a past member of Oakwood Village Retirement planning committee.



Cheryl Lytle


Cheryl is a current member of the board having recently been appointed in March of 2016. She is serving on The Arc’s Fruit Sale Committee as a planning member. She also does the data input for fruit orders. Cheryl is the Events Coordinator for the Wisconsin Grocers Association.



Bob Kortkamp


Bob is a current board member of The Arc-Dane County having been elected to a 2-year term in 2014. He currently volunteers on the Fruit Sale Committee as a planning member and as the fruit sale home delivery person. Bob also is a member of the Golf Committee and a past recipient of The Arc’s Volunteer Award. Bob is retired from U.S. Cellular.



At Large
Deni Fuhrman

Deni is a parent of two children with disabilities and works as a counselor.



At Large
Tom Gunder

Tom is a Special Education Teacher with the Waunakee Community School District working with 18-21 year old students in the transition program. He has worked in the field of special education for 24 years supporting and advocating for the needs of individuals with disabilities. From 2013-2016, Tom was the Director of Workforce Development for Goodwill of South Central Wisconsin administering the organization’s mission programs. Tom is also a bowling and basketball coach for the Waunakee Special Olympics team.



At Large
Holly Hayter

Holly is a recent graduate of UW – Madison, School of Education. She is currently working as a Special Education teacher in the Lodi school district. She was recently appointed as a board member for the Arc of Dane county as of March 2018.



At Large
Tom Novotny

Tom is a current board member of The Arc-Dane County having been elected to the board in 2014. He is a parent of a son with a disability and has the experience working with individuals with disabilities. He has served on The Arc’s Media and Technology committees, assisting with communications enhancements and web page re-design. Tom has been a volunteer member of The Arc-Dane County since April 2012.



At Large
Dan Remick


Dan is a self -advocate and has been a member of The Arc-Dane County for many years. He is a past President of People First of Dane County where he used his skills as a public speaker and activist for people with disabilities. This is Dan’s second 2-year term on the board of directors.



At Large
Bob Ross

Bob is a long time employee of the USDFA Forrest Products Lab, which happens to be located on the University of Wisconsin campus in Madison. His team tests any item made of wood in use. Bob has been an active member of The Art-Dane County since 2001.



At Large
Jean Schmeichel

Jean recently retired from the school system where she served as Director of Instruction. A long time advocate, Jean has enjoyed the Arc activities that she has attended.



At Large
Brandon Tracy

Brandon Tracy, a martial artist for over 35 years, has worked along side of and taught individuals with special needs throughout his many years as a martial artist & volunteer in the greater Madison area. He has been teaching martial arts and self-defense professionally since 2002 and recently closed Infusion Martial Arts & Fitness to open Superhero-Martial Arts, a school solely dedicated to the promotion of self empowerment and life skills for individuals with special needs.

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes